Tags

, , , , , , ,

Blogging Again!

I guess I should start by saying, “Hello!” and “…umm, sorry for the long absence.” I don’t really have an excuse for slipping away, and there isn’t any exciting story behind my hiatus. Basically keeping this blog up to date just slipped away from me; I actually had about 5 different posts in the works, but never got to finish them. I decided enough time had passed and it was time to begin blogging again.

Creating an Ultimate GIF!

Over the last year and a half, I have been learning more about photography in my free time, I upgraded my Nikon D60 to a Nikon D300s, and have been taking more and more photos with aVoceBehindTheLens. During the Professional Ultimate season, I get to tag along with Jen as a second shooter for NY Empire games. Now that I have a D300s, I can shoot up to 7 frames for second, so I can capture some great action sequences. So for this post, I quickly made an animated GIF out of 9 images from one of those bursts. Below is a pull from the NY EmpirePhiladelphia Phoenix game on 25 April 2015.

My First Ultimate GIF!

My First Ultimate GIF!

If you have Photoshop CS5 or newer here are the basic steps for creating a GIF:

  1. Move all your images into one folder
  2. Open all of the images in Photoshop (PS)
  3. Once open, click “File” then “Scripts” then “Load Files Into Stacks”
  4. Click “Add Open Files” and then “OK” (this will add each image as a separate layer)
  5. Click “Window” and then “Animation”
  6. On the top right of the Animation Tool bar you should see a button in the top right of an upside down triangle and a few lines. Click it.
  7. Click “Make frames from Layers”
  8. Back on the Animation tool window, click the icon in the bottom right corner of three little squares
  9. When the new view is displayed, adjust the seconds each image is displayed (the GIF above uses 0.3 seconds).
  10. Click the “play arrow” button to cycle through the images (you might need to reorder your images)
  11. If you’re happy with the product, click “File” then “Save for Web & Devices”.
  12. If you are using large image files, you will probably get a popup saying something about file size being too large. Just click “OK”
  13. Change the Width and Hight (I used 800 for the width and let PS automatically resize the hight).
  14. Lastly, change the file type to GIF (I used GIF 128), and save!

In the future, I will definitely crop the image better and possibly have each frame last a little longer. Let me know what you think.

I want to thank you for reading, and Jen from aVoceBehingTheLens for showing me how to make animated GIFs.

