Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In this post, I want to talk about two things: New 5 Ultimate Jerseys and Team Statistics for Weeks 4 & 5.

Thumbs up For the New Jerseys

WEEK FIVE IS FOR 5 ULTIMATE:

Each team received their color specific 5 Ultimate Electro jerseys this weekend (7 May). SC ended up with navy as their team jersey color. This is my first Electro, though I do have a 5 Ultimate Ambient jersey. The Electro runs a little larger than the Ambient and is more silky and lightweight. Yeah, I dig it. The logo UltiNY designed for this year is pretty cool, too. As you can see from the shot to the left, my teammates approve of the new threads.

CURRENT STANDINGS:

Now, as for the stats. You may have noticed I skipped over week 3. The UltiNY League was rained out that Saturday, so no games were played. This happened to work out perfectly for me because I was away in NH that weekend anyway. Even if I was there I probably wouldn’t have played because I pulled my hamstring (more about that in a later post).

WEEK FOUR – 30 April

The teams we drew for week 4 were the Pink Panthers and IJOZ. We lost both games, but played fairly well against each team, especially the Pink Panthers. Here is the quick rundown of assists, scores and defensive blocks. I wish I had the focus to keep more statistics for each player, but alas, I am not that organized. If you saw the little pad that I used, you’d be surprised that I fit as much as I do each week on it.

Game One:
Pink Panthers (12) versus SC (9)

Right into his hands!

Assists:
Juan 4
Bing 2
Scott 1
Jen 1
Nate 1

Scores:
James 1
Danny 2
Scott 2
Nate 2
Keira 1
Tom 1

Defensive Blocks:
Scott 2
Jen 1
Nate 1
Juan 1
Lee 2
James 1

Game Two:

Patience with the Disc

IJOZ (10) versus SC (5)
Assists:
Nate 1
Juan 2
Scott 1
Bing 1

Scores:
James 1
Scott 1
Bing 1
Lee 1
Tom W. 1

Defensive Blocks:
Bing 2
Scott 3

WEEK FIVE  – 7 May

As for last weekend, Week Five, we played Cone Shots and Nightmare Pheasants. The last time we faced Cone Shots we only scored 3 points against them. This week, Cullen challenged us to double it. Well, we did it one better…. No, spoiler alert, we didn’t win. I meant that more literally, we scored 7 points.

Game One:
SC (7) verses Cone Shots (13)
Assists:
Scott 2
Bing 2
Lee 1
Juan 2

Scanning the Field

Scores:
Adam 1
Liz 1
Jeff L. 1
Juan 1
Jen 1
Scott 1
Keira 1

Defensive Blocks:
Jen 1
Bing 1
Juan 1
Liz 1
Scott 3

Game Two:
SC (4) versus Nightmare Pheasants (11)
Assists:
Juan 1
Bing 2
Scott 1

Scores:
Lee 1
Tom W. 1
Adam 1
James 1

Defensive Blocks:
Juan 2
Lee 1

I don't like the Sun...

Though we have yet to win a game, we are improving. I know a lot of teams that lose a fair amount of their games try to play that angle, but from what I view on the sidelines we are doing better. The major things that need work are conditioning (we play better in our first game than our second in most occasions), continuation passes (flow) and patience.

We’ve been playing with a vertical stack with cuts coming from the back, which I believe has hurt us. Teams have been able to poach on us and create a lot of traffic to run through. In the coming weeks we are going to use a horizontal stack to see if we can improve our in cuts. This might not necessarily help us with our timing, though. Our timing needs some work to help us create opportunities for continuation passes. We tend to make a pass then dump and swing; make a pass and then dump and swing. As long as we hold onto the disc and can advance it up the field this is a safe offensive game plan; however, it takes a toll on the offense and allows the defense to set up on their mark after each pass. If we could create more flow, timing our cuts properly, I think we would see a lot more closer games.

At the moment, the team standings are as follows (click here for a link to the official standings): Cone Shots (First Place), Manatee Problems (Second), 7 Local (Third), IJOZ (et cetera), Nightmare Pheasants, Double Agents, Pink Panthers, Business Time, New Colossus and Supercocks. I look forward to seeing how things progress over the last few weeks!

Thanks for reading!

