Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Ultimate in October: Hell-O-Ween 2010

Hell-O-Ween 2010

HELL-O-WEEN Website - Art by Adam S. Doyl Found on the Hellgate Website.

It’s almost October, so it’s time to think about Halloween and, more importantly, Halloween themed Tournaments. I moved down to Long Island last summer and began playing with a Co-Ed Ultimate team called the SuperCocks (think rooster, please). One of the first tournaments I played with them was Hellgate Ultimate’s Hell-O-Ween. I wasn’t able to play both days due to work, but I had a blast just the same. So after a good time last year, the team put in a bid for 2010.

Last year, the team choose to go with a Nintendo theme. Rather than limit it to Mario Bros. characters we opened up the possibilities to include the entire Nintendo world, no, Nintendo galaxy. We had Mario, Luigi, four Toads, Warrio, Ice Climbers (Popo and Nana), Pikachu, Link, Kirby, a Question Block (or two), a Power up Star, a Fire Flower, a One Up Mushroom (me) and a couple others. Sadly, I missed the team photo shot, but did take some individuals.

2009 Team Photo

Last year, I made my costume by purchasing a green hat and long sleeve shirt from the Gap. I had a white t-shirt, which I cut up into lots of circle/oval shapes. The costume was rounded out with white socks and shorts, which I also owned, so it only cost me about $15 to make; though, it did take about a week to sew everything by hand. I still had a lot of fun making it.

This year we are thinking about going with a Pixar theme. We haven’t decided to go with one film, like Toy Story, or to open up the options to all of the feature films and shorts, so we’ll see where that goes.

So far the website says that there are 6 teams registered – the Farm, SuperCocks, OTP, Sidecar, Hellgate and Romp – but I’m sure there will be more to come. I think last year it was in the high teens; I believe this year they have space for around 20 Co-Ed teams.

The Hosts: Hellgate Ultimate

Hellgate Ultimate is a well established Co-Ed club out of Astoria, NY. They play regularly at Astoria Park. You can find out more at Why Leave Astoria, their Tournament Website or on there Facebook group page.

Power Up and 1up, Pure AWESOME!

The Tournament: Details

“Hell-O-Ween is a USA Ultimate Sanctioned Ultimate Frisbee tournament in New York City’s Randall’s Island. This year, the tournament will be held on October 30th and 31st. The ratio will be 5/2 and games will be played to 13. On Saturday night, October 30th, there will be a costume party sponsored by Victory Brewery. This is a costume tournament for Halloween, so prizes will be given for the best costumes as well as for the tournament’s champion”. I am not sure when registration ends, but I imagine that they will accept bids until the spots are full.

Other Halloween Ultimate:

Here is a list of some other ones I know about:

Let me know if your team is coming. Or post some other fun Halloween Ultimate Tournaments in the comments section below.

